Small Organic Livestock Farm in NJ?

Mattdohn

Mattdohn

Hello! I am completely new to the world of agro and was looking for some advice on a dream of mine. I graduated college two years ago and have been working a good paying job but I know it’s work that I don’t want to do forever. Me and my fiancé planned on having a hobby farm when we do get a home so I got a part time job on a dairy farm to learn. Seeing how it is this families full time job working on their land really inspired me to look deeper into this and maybe create my own full time farmstead.

Can I own a profitable full time livestock farm in NJ with Goats, Pigs and Chicken? From the research I’ve done (no first hand knowledge) those are the most profitable livestock that require the least amount of land. From my research I can sustain 12-16 goat, 50-70 pig, and whole lot of chicken on 5 acres? I am open to have more but I would be the only person maintaining it so its important not to overwhelm myself, also NJ land is not cheap.

I would love to produce organic meat from animals who I can ensure were raised ethically and even educate a suburban community on livestock. Responses I’m really looking for are all based on income and property size, can I make a living (50K year) raising and selling wholesale (or by cut) organic livestock with those numbers?

Ben

Ben

Farm Hand