Combines I am stumped 4400 saga continues

rotor_man

Glad the fuel pump wiring was an easy fix. Not much chance that the intake gasket has gone bad from being parked, It is made of a rugged material that is not prone to rot or drying out.I have 30 years of experience with those old chev engines, but not as installed in a 4400 JD.Any chance the carb has a fuel cut off solinoid like the 6600 with JD engineIJ, If not it sounds like somthing is plugged between the main jet and the venturi nozzle.

The_Red

Electronic ignition will be on my list once it is running. But first I have to get it running. Need to stay focused on why I am not getting gas. I rebuilt and thoroughly cleaned the carburetor. Blew out all the channels, etc.

High_Rise

Just a thought, if you have already done this, never mind.. Take a squirt can of motor oil and shoot a few shots in the spark plug holes then try again. Cylinder walls won't seal w_o oil film on them. Good luck..

The_Red

Just stopped in for some dinner before I go back out to the combine. I did that 2 weeks ago but I am going to do that again. I had several responses on YTMAG_Tales with that exact reply. I just bought a compression gauge so I will find out how bad the compression is within the hour. I will test compression before I squirt in the oil. I am also going to manually time it. It is possible that the distributor has been out of this engine. So when n1 is on TDC, the rotor may not be pointing at the radiator. I now have, at least, the operator's manual. lots of good tips in the manual. I'll post later today with the compression results.

rotor_man

Red remember n1 at tdc ON COMPRESSION STROKE. It's easy to get the distributor 180 degrees out of time if you are at tdc on exhaust stroke.

The_Red